Welcome to the Academic English Cluster

Academic English Courses

Choose from over 90 academic English courses, most of which focus on English for special purposes or advanced writing skills.

English Writing Center

The English Writing Center offers free one-to-one consulting for TUM students and staff of all levels. We use your own English texts as our raw material to develop your competence in written English. 

English Coaching Program

The English Coaching Program supports professors, academic & administrative staff and PhD candidates on all three locations. 

English Mobility Courses for Staff

These courses confer the needed qualification for Erasmus Staff Mobility in English Speaking Countries/ Programs.

Read more about English Mobility Courses for Staff

 

 

Additional Services

 

Dr. Heidi Minning

Head of English Program
minning@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester:
On Tuesdays from 10:00 to 11:00
By arrangement during the semester break
Room 311, Richard-Wagner-Str. 3 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29314

short bio

Dr. Aparna Bhar

English Lecturer
bhar@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester:
On Wednesdays from 10:00 to 11:00
By arrangement during the semester break
Room 305, Richard-Wagner-Str. 3 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29304

short bio

Ross Clark

English Lecturer
clark@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester:
On Mondays from 15:00 to 16:00
By arrangement during the semester break
Room 305,  Richard-Wagner-Str. 3 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29303

short bio

Kate Eden

English Lecturer /
Coordinator of English Coaching Program /
Coordinator of English DAAD Testing

eden@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester:
On Mondays from 16:30 to 17:30
By arrangement during the semester break
Room 312, Richard-Wagner-Str. 3 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29309

short bio

Elisabeth Hamzi-Schmidt

English Lecturer / Coach WZW
hamzi-schmidt@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester:
On Thursdays from 13:30 to 15:00 and by arrangement
By arrangement during the semester break
Lecturer's Room, Weihenstephaner Berg 13 (WZW)
Tel.: 08161/71-5335

short bio

Karl Hughes

English Lecturer /
Coordinator of English Coaching Program

hughes@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester:
On Thursdays from 11:30 to 13:00
By arrangement during the semester break
English Writing Center, Room 0243, Arcisstr. 21 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29308

short bio

Rose Jacobs

English Lecturer /
English Writing Center

jacobs@zv.tum.de

Office hours
During the semester:
16. April-11. June: Tuesdays 12-13 Uhr
Richard-Wagner-Str. 3, Room 304

20. Juni-25. June: Thursdays 10.30-11.30
English Writing Center (Arcistr. 21, Room 0241)
Tel.: +49 89/289-29306

short bio

Tina Schrier

English Lecturer / Coach GAR
schrier@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester:
On Tuesdays from 11:00 to 12:00
By arrangement during the semester break
Room 304, Richard-Wagner-Str. 3 (MUC)

Wednesday, 14:00 - 15:00
Room MW 0808 (GAR)Tel.: 089/289-15102

short bio

Ruth Shannon

English Lecturer /
Coordinator of the English Writing Center
shannon@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester
On Thursdays from 11:00 to 13:00
By arrangement during the semester break
English Writing Center, Room 0243, Arcisstr. 21 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29310

short bio

Dr. Stephen Starck

English Lecturer / Coach MUC & GAR
starck@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester:
On Wednesdays from 12:00 to 13:00
By arrangement during the semester break
Room 305, Richard-Wagner-Str. 3 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29307

short bio


 
Photo Credits: Photo 1-3 (Landscapes and London) are released under Creative Commons CC0 and freely available in the public domain at www.pixabay.com. Photos of the lecturers: Eckert, Astrid und Heddergott, Andreas / TUM