Welcome to the Academic English Cluster

Academic English Courses

Choose from over 80 academic English courses, most of which focus on English for special purposes or advanced writing skills.

English Writing Center

The English Writing Center offers free one-to-one consulting for TUM students and staff of all levels. We use your own English texts as our raw material to develop your competence in written English. 

English Coaching Program

The English Coaching Program supports professors, academic & administrative staff and PhD candidates on all three locations. 

Additional Services


Dr. Heidi Minning

Head of English Program
minning@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
Tuesdays 10:00 - 11:00
Room 311, Richard-Wagner-Str. 3 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29314

short bio

Dr. Aparna Bhar

English Lecturer
bhar@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
Thursdays 13:00 - 14:00
Room 305, Richard-Wagner-Str. 3 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29304

Ross Clark

English Lecturer
clark@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
Mondays 15:30 - 17:00
Room 305,  Richard-Wagner-Str. 3 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29303

short bio

Kate Eden

English Lecturer /
Coordinator of English Coaching Program /
Coordinator of English DAAD Testing

eden@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
Wednesdays 12:00 - 13:00
Room 312, Richard-Wagner-Str. 3 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29309

short bio

Elisabeth Hamzi-Schmidt

English Lecturer / Coach WZW
hamzi-schmidt@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
Thursdays 13:30 - 14:30
Lecturer's Room, Language Center, Weihenstephaner Berg 13 (WZW)
Tel.: 08161/71-5335

short bio

Jeremiah Hendren

English Lecturer /
Coordinator of English Writing Center

hendren@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
Tuesdays 14:00 - 15:00
English Writing Center, Room 0243, Arcisstr. 21 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29305/25437

short bio

Karl Hughes

English Lecturer /
Coordinator of English Coaching Program

hughes@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
Thursdays 11:30 - 13:00
English Writing Center (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29308

short bio

Rose Jacobs

English Lecturer /
English Writing Center

jacobs@zv.tum.de

Office hours:
Thursdays 10:00 - 11:00
Richard-Wagner-Str. 3, Raum 304 (MUC)

short bio

Tina Schrier

English Lecturer / Coach GAR
schrier@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
Mondays 11:00 - 12:00
Room 304, Richard-Wagner-Str. 3 (MUC)

Wednesdays 14:00 - 15:00
Room MW 0808 (GAR)
Tel.: 089/289-15102

short bio

Ruth Shannon

English Lecturer /
English Writing Center
shannon@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
Thursdays 14:00 - 15:00
Room 304, Richard Wagner Str. 3 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-15102

short bio

Dr. Stephen Starck

English Lecturer / Coach MUC & GAR
starck@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
Wednesdays 12:00 - 13:00
Room 305, Richard-Wagner-Str. 3 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29307

short bio