Welcome to the Academic English Cluster

Academic English Courses

Choose from over 80 academic English courses, most of which focus on English for special purposes or advanced writing skills.

English Writing Center

The English Writing Center offers free one-to-one consulting for TUM students and staff of all levels. We use your own English texts as our raw material to develop your competence in written English. 

English Coaching Program

The English Coaching Program supports professors, academic & administrative staff and PhD candidates on all three locations. 

Additional Services


Dr. Heidi Minning

Head of English Program
minning@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester break by appointment
Room 311, Richard-Wagner-Str. 3 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29314

short bio

Dr. Aparna Bhar

English Lecturer
bhar@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester break by appointment
Room 305, Richard-Wagner-Str. 3 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29304

Ross Clark

English Lecturer
clark@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester break by appointment
Room 305,  Richard-Wagner-Str. 3 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29303

short bio

Kate Eden

English Lecturer /
Coordinator of English Coaching Program /
Coordinator of English DAAD Testing

eden@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester break by appointment
Room 312, Richard-Wagner-Str. 3 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29309

short bio

Elisabeth Hamzi-Schmidt

English Lecturer / Coach WZW
hamzi-schmidt@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester break by appointment
Lecturer's Room, Language Center, Weihenstephaner Berg 13 (WZW)
Tel.: 08161/71-5335

short bio

Jeremiah Hendren

English Lecturer /
Coordinator of English Writing Center

hendren@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester break by appointment
English Writing Center, Room 0243, Arcisstr. 21 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29305/25437

short bio

Karl Hughes

English Lecturer /
Coordinator of English Coaching Program

hughes@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester break by appointment
English Writing Center, Room 0243, Arcisstr. 21 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29308

short bio

Rose Jacobs

English Lecturer /
English Writing Center

jacobs@zv.tum.de

Office hours:
During the semester break by appointment
Richard-Wagner-Str. 3, Raum 304 (MUC)
Tel.: +49 89/289-29306

short bio

Tina Schrier

English Lecturer / Coach GAR
schrier@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester break by appointment
Room 304, Richard-Wagner-Str. 3 (MUC)

Room MW 0808 (GAR)Tel.: 089/289-15102

short bio

Ruth Shannon

English Lecturer /
English Writing Center
shannon@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester break by appointment
Room 304, Richard Wagner Str. 3 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29310

short bio

Dr. Stephen Starck

English Lecturer / Coach MUC & GAR
starck@zv.tum.de

Office Hours
During the semester break by appointment
Room 305, Richard-Wagner-Str. 3 (MUC)
Tel.: 089/289-29307

short bio